The next generation of community and public transportation leaders will shape the future of our industry. CTAA is committed to supporting these leaders in creating the most promising future for their organization, employees, and customers through its Emerging Leaders Academy.


Dr. Barbara Gannon

Dr. Barbara Gannon is a leadership consultant and clinical psychologist with practical experience across the transportation sector. Dr. Gannon is respected for her expertise in workforce strategy and in the design and delivery of professional development programs. She has built the leadership capacity and encouraged the personal growth of over 2,000 transportation sector leaders through courses, team interventions, and individual consultations. Dr. Gannon developed the Eno Foundation's Center for Transportation Leadership, where she served as Executive Vice President until 2012. In addition to national leadership courses, Barbara designed the Texas Transit Leadership Institute for Texas DOT, the NY Mid-Manager Seminar, and PennDOT's Pennsylvania Transit Executive Seminar. She has directed the Executive Development Course for the International Bridge, Tunnel and Turnpike Association for 10 years. Barbara Gannon is a member of CTAA, COMTO and APTA. For her role as an advocate and expert in the transportation workforce, Dr. Gannon was awarded the 2014 Women Who Move the Nation designee from the Conference of Minority Transportation Officials.

Michael Noel

Michael Noel has more than 40 years of experience working in the community transportation industry as a trainer and consultant specializing in safety, security, management, leadership, customer service, strategic planning and organizational development. He has trained more than 10,000 transit professionals in 42 states, and has helped author many of the leading publications that guide the industry today. Mr. Noel is a founding member of the Community Transportation Association of America (CTAA). A former transit manager in Pennsylvania, he continues to serve as a member of the board of the Cambria County Transit Authority. He serves as a subject matter expert on a host of transportation projects and helped author numerous materials including CTAA's Certified Community Transit Supervisor, National RTAP's Threat, Vulnerability & Emergency Preparedness Toolbox, Safety Training and Rural Transit (START) Boards That Perform and Customer Driven Service.


Ann August

Ann Dawson August is currently the CEO of ADA Transit Consulting, LLC., which specializes in public transit compliance, policy reviews and training. She formerly served as the first female CEO of the Birmingham Jefferson County Transportation Authority (BJCTA) from October 2012 through December 2015. Prior to her appointment to the BJCTA in October 2012; Ann served 15 years as the CEO of the Santee Wateree Regional Transportation Authority (SWRTA) from September 1997 through December 2012, the second largest urban and rural transit system in the State of South Carolina. She is a Certified Community Transportation Manager, and is well known in the transportation industry. Ann is the recipient of the 2015 Women Who Move the Nation Award from COMTO; the 2015 Executive Director of the Year Award from the Birmingham Metro Branch of the NAACP; 2015 Outstanding Professional, Excellence and Dedication Award from the Top Female Executives; the 2014 recipient of the Aaron E. Henry Humanitarian Award from CTAA; 2011 SCDOT Executive Director of the Year Award.

Connie Garber

Connie Garber recently retired after 35 years as Transportation Director at the York County Community Action Corporation in Sanford, Maine. YCCAC operates a county-wide coordinated transportation program and has operated a Volunteer Driver component as part of its coordinated transportation program since 1984. The WAVE (Wheels to Access Vocation and Education) began in 1999, then expanded to serve a small urban area, with 11 vans and 3 buses operating 7 days/week, has provided over 600,000 trips. In 2006, YCCAC launched the FTA Administrator Award winning Shoreline Explorer, a network of trolleys and buses being provided as a public-private partnership, providing seasonal service to the coastal region of York County, connecting 5 towns along the coast, with year-round service to an inland regional service center town.

Rick Krochalis

Richard (Rick) F. Krochalis is a member of the Seattle Design Commission. This Commission reviews Seattle projects with public funding and advises the Mayor and City Council on those developments that seek to use public right of ways. He was the Regional Administrator of the Federal Transit Administration's (FTA) Region 10 office in Seattle, Washington from May 2002 until he retired from federal service in June 2016. In this position, Mr. Krochalis was responsible for the administration of FTA's capital, operating and planning grant programs totaling over $700 million annually in the four-state Western region, which includes Oregon, Washington, Idaho and Alaska. Prior to joining the FTA, Mr. Krochalis served as director of design, construction and land use for the city of Seattle for ten years.

Lenna Kottke

Lenna Kottke served as Executive Director of Via Mobility Services in Boulder, Colorado for 25 years, retiring in 2016. During her tenure, Via grew from a grassroots organization providing paratransit services in a single county to a multi-county, multi-program agency providing more than 135,000 door-through-door trips annually, as well as a variety of mobility options and contracted services. Lenna served as President of the Board of Directors of the Colorado Association of Transit Agencies (CASTA) and also served on the Transportation Advisory Committee for the Denver Regional Council on Governments (DRCOG). In 2016, she was presented a Lifetime Achievement award by the Denver Regional Mobility and Access Council (DRMAC) and was named Community Transportation Manager of the Year by CTAA.